powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

les soldes

Today, once again, it was hot. This time, stifling hot. The kind of hot that has you ducking into shops because there is a sign in the window that says �climatisation� (that�s air conditioning), shops you never thought you�d set foot in because they are cheesy. So, because of the heat, I actually went into Cop Copinne, JetSet, and a bunch of other French versions of ContempoCasuals in my neighborhood. Thank god the sales have started here so that I could absentmindedly finger hideous clothing while throngs of �savvy� shoppers swarmed. That�s the good thing about busy shopping days--you can enter and leave unnoticed, and don�t have to feel any pressure to buy. Although to be honest, I haven�t really encountered any of that pressure... yet. It�s just a matter of time, given how much time I spend looking at stuff.

So if any of you are curious, here is what the French, who shop at JetSet, are spending their hard-earned francs on: distressed bootleg jeans with rhinestone Bedazzler decoration or rivets (to be worn super tight,) superwide belts (to be worn slung low on their non-existent French hips,) tiny tank tops with odd-sounding English slogans, big but thin gold hoops. If I had a digital camera I could show you what everyone looks like. And I do mean Everyone. This is France, where people might be unconventional in their thinking, but never in their dress.

So, the sales... it�s madness! I actually like digging through bins of things. The best is getting a big matted ball of panties and thongs and bras and spending time untangling everything. I can�t tell you how many matching sets of underwear I have unearthed this way. And because I already know my favorite brands, I just make a bee-line to those boxes. For me, the problem is that the stuff I have my eye on generally isn�t on sale, so for example today there were no Paul Smith sets, no good Prada sets, no matching Eres sets, no Kenzo, no decent Capucine Puerari! But I will go back again this week to make sure that I didn�t miss anything. In the meantime, I�ve got 2 new sets of Princess Tam Tam to keep me excited.

I am going to finish some laundry then go to bed because tomorrow I have yoga at 11, and afterwards we are all going to toast a fellow student farewell with a picnic on the Pont Sully (well, actually UNDER the Pont Sully.)

10:14 p.m. - 2001-06-26

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: