powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Requiem pour une conne

It is pouring down rain again, another one of those insane summer storms that make me cringe because I am a total parano about my computer. I should probably keep this brief in case there�s some cuckoo power surge in the Parisian grid. If you saw how ad-hoc the electrical systems are in these older than dirt buildings over here, you too would unplug everything at the sight of lightning.

But before the crazy weather, I went to the Buttes-Chaumont. It is a park in the 19e that used be a stone quarry so it sits in a hole, and I am too tired to describe it! Plus I now have a good excuse to unplug the box: I�m having drinks with Jacquot, possibly the most high-strung, spaz-o-matic, Speedy Gonzales-like French guy. And he has a car! So we won�t get very wet.

Before I sign off, though. . . Yesterday I wrote �Je suis con� which prompted a guestbook signature related to French usage. So briefly here, I will sort of explain why it is that used �con� instead of �conne.�

Con is a noun, so therefore je (female, as it is moi) suis con is perfectly correct. However, people make it an adjective�elle est conne�which is just, I think, a popular neologism because con is a masculine noun. According to l'encyclopedie Larousse �c'est une conne,� �elle est con� are both proper

Je suis con, je suis conne, je suis un con, une conne, whatever�all of them describe my behavior pre-lunch yesterday.

8:09 p.m. - 2001-07-26

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: