powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

metro : boulot : dough dough

Demain je travaille.

A friend of a friend runs a large format magalog (he calls it a magazine) called [name of city] sur la Terre (on Earth.) They�re sold in some kiosques, but are mostly found in hotels.

A few months ago I went to his office to give his staff designer some feedback on a secondary magazine they were thinking of launching, and long story short, there wasn�t much for me to do and I made a quick 800 francs. Two months ago, he called wanting me to do some production work on one of the mags, and because he wanted to pay me 1/2 my rate, I had to say no. I don�t mind helping someone out when they�re struggling, but the guy drives a sauced Mercedes and the one time I met his wife, she was wearing the most buttery soft leather pants... so for him, it�s 100% my rate or no go.

Tomorrow I�m going to his offices to design a card/flyer thingie for his father who is a shoe designer. I�m not getting my hopes up. In the shoe department that is. His father�s name isn�t Michel Perry after all. He doesn�t want me to spend all day on it, he says it�s a quick job (non-designers are always so cavalier in their time assessments) so I won�t break my head over it. Whoops, that was a French expression that I just translated into English without even thinking, but you get my point.

And it couldn�t work out better because I saw some cute things at Cacharel and Zadig & Voltaire today. I really should use the money I make to get a winter coat, but the thought of trying on a coat in this humid hot weather just nauseates me. I�d better get cracking on the winter wardrobe thing, though, because shit sells out. And you know, I just realized how ridiculous it is for me to be thinking Winter when in a matter of a month and a half, I will be in Los Angeles, Land of Perpetual Sun.

===

Right now they are showing a film at Saint Sulpice. There�s an outdoor screen set up, with people are sprinkled about. There is a whole festival going on where they show films in the original locations in which they were shot--so tonight�s movie features Saint Sulpice. I missed most of it because at 10 pm, I had to have an ice cream, and I dragged Terence to the rue Mouffetard where there is an ice cream place to die for! They scoop the ice cream with a paddle, and layer the ice cream as they pivot the cone, making the final thing look like a beautiful and delicious flower. I had raspberry and vanilla, Terence had melon and mango.

11:17 p.m. - 2001-08-22

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: