powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Les Parents Terribles

My parents get here in 2 days. The Full Metal Freakout has not yet occurred, but I am a little bomb tick-tick-ticking away. I�ve got a near full bottle of Valium and half a bottle of Vicodin at the ready. It�s very reassuring having these kinds of prescriptions around, I have to say. I am hoping not to dip into either of those bottles, but just to be safe, I�ve moved them from the back of the cupboard to the front. When you badly need a tranquilizer, the last thing you want to do is spend more than 30 seconds looking for one.

I have been receiving around 2 to 3 emails a week from my mother, and in each message she says something like, �I�m so excited to see you!� in this faux, deliriously happy tone. She is so NOT that way in real life; she is mean and angry most of the time. I have been tempted to reply to one of her messages with a terse �manage your expectations� since the reality of her seeing me cannot possibly live up to any of her delusional expectations... but I haven�t sent that sort of message off because it is nasty. Sheesh, it is so exhausting taking the high road and training yourself to act instead of react. It�s a lot easier to deal when you�re thousands of miles away.

Anyway, they will be here 5 days. Then, once they�re done torturing me, they are off to the Pyr�n�es to work on my aunt�s house, and entertain a bunch of American friends. My mother always hated the house (because she hated my aunt) but now that it�s hers, she�s become the bourgeoise chatelaine and it is so irritating. Who knows what kind of useless and ruinous renovations she will undertake.

===

It�s kind of chilly today so when I got home after a stroll through the Marais, I made hot chocolate with mini marshmallows in it. The marshmallows were part of a care package I received in May. The package also contained chocolate rice krispies, and I was supposed to make rice krispy treats, but the cereal didn�t last that long. It�s a good thing marshmallows have a Twinkie shelf life of infinity.

5:30 p.m. - 2001-09-09

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: