powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

La barbe

The smoke alarm keeps going off because I am roasting a chicken. It happens every fucking time I decide to cook something large and savory, and it�s starting to drive me nuts. I�m sure my neighbors don�t appreciate it either,

The main problem is that the smoke detector is hard-wired, so removing the battery does nothing.

I can�t decide if it�s spilled food matter burning on the bottom of the stove that�s causing the alarm to go off, or if it�s just excessive cooking temperatures coupled with poor venting. It just makes the concept of a dinner party all the more remote.

Obviously tonight I am eating chicken, A happy, formerly free-range prancing one. And a pur�e of potatoes and turnips, and a salad. I made hummus earlier in the day so that�s what I�ve been nibbling for ap�ro. It�s so civilized over here at rue Madame. It would be a lot easier to promote the idea of myself as a self-assured cooking dynamo if the alarm didn�t keep going off. And of course, none of you is fooled by my flowery vocabulary and bon mots.

I�ve accomplished very little in the way of Exciting Personal Things, spending most of my time working or going to yoga class the last few days. How middle-aged am I becoming? I did have two celebrity sightings yesterday: at Rite Aid, I saw Ving Rhames. And then while I was waiting to get a coffee before seeing �Gosford Park,� I saw Bob Balaban, who co-wrote and stars in �Gosford Park� so that was very � propos. He was as tiny in real life as I had imagined, and was eating a muffin in the manner of those Tiny: daintily.

Terence has been in a foul mood lately. He has some kind of allergy/sinus thing that gives him throbbing headaches and he is incredibly grouchy and aggro as a result. He had an interview last week, and it took him 40 minutes to get there, 40 minutes to come home, and now he is wondering if it�s even worth it to apply for jobs that are that far away. I certainly don�t think so, and have been encouraging him to hold out for something better, something closer and more stimulating (apparently the guy he interviewed with was a total downer, and Terence didn�t think he would feel very inspired to create innovative/interesting work.) I so don�t belong to that world anymore, and thank god for that. I�m my own boss, and take all the credit when I do something well, and kick my own ass when I suck. Way more efficient that way.

God I am so boring right now. I should put myself to bed.

8:29 p.m. - 2002-01-28

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: