powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The thrill of victory, the agony of shameless brand promotion

It was hot today and so I found it difficult to be productive. Oh sure, I ran a bunch of errands (Farmer�s Market, supermarket, post office) and managed to squeeze in an hour and a half of yoga, but for the most part, I did very little.

Well actually, in between the nothingness, I made Valentine�s cards. I know it�s a dumb Hallmark holiday, but I like making the cards, and I figure it�s not every day that you remind someone they matter. See because that�s what my Valentines are all about: letting people know that I think they�re special. This year I experimented with cutting heart shapes in the middle of the cards, then affixing smaller hearts to thread in the center (so that the little hearts dangle.) It looked alright, but all that teensy weensy handwork wore me out so I only ended up making 2 of those. Mostly the cards are colorful with collage bits salvaged from magazines. I sent one with a picture of Wes Anderson on it, and I stuck a little thought bubble over his head that said, �Be My Rushmore.� Another card featured Owen Wilson in a cowboy hat (can you tell that I got the images from a Royal Tenebaums article?) with Southwesty paint chips around his head (I like the names of some paint colors so I cut and pasted the names onto the Valentine.) I used to make a ton, then recalibrated to focus on Quality. That�s me, the GM of Valentines.

I still have not been paid and it�s starting to make me a little nutty. The thing is, when you�re dealing with a giant behemoth of a company, you have to expect that approvals will take a while but honestly, I sent my invoice December 21, 2001 and still have not received payment. If I don�t get paid in the next week, then I�m going to have to STOP WORK. Clients hate it when I have to do that, but I don�t work for free.

And now for something completely different. I�ve been watching the Olympics and I have to admit that I am strangely excited about them. I could care less about them being held here in the United States; frankly, that part of it I could do without. The flags, the face painting, the sanctimonious patriotism, the whole medal count thing--it�s just sick. I still can�t fathom certain sports being judged on STYLE (that�s subjective), but overall, I am getting into the ideals of brotherhood and fair play. That said, I am totally annoyed by how each American snowboarder finishes his/her run, steps out of the bindings then flashes the bottom of the deck to the cameras to show off their brand.It�s obscene and I hope they each get spanked by the Olympic committee.

Did you guys know that Eiko Ishioka designed the uniforms for Spain, Japan, Switzerland and Canada? Not only that, but she designed a cocoon jacket that helps athletes get focused. Here�s an interesting article about it: http://www.nytimes.com/2002/01/20/magazine/20DESIGN.html

8:45 p.m. - 2002-02-11

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: