powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Livin' la vie folle

Today is Cinco de Mayo, and eventhough I am Mexican and French, I couldn�t care less.

In my family, we never celebrated the holiday. I asked my mother one time why it was that we didn�t observe it in any way, shape or form, and she said something like, �la plebe.� Is it any wonder I turned out the way I did when my mother�s explanation for not going to see a parade was the plebeians?

It�s funny now when I think about it. How can the plebs be a sufficient explanation for a kid? It was enough to scar me for life and turn me off of all parades, civic functions or gatherings of any kind. Actually, even if my mother hadn�t been a snob, I would have turned out one anyway and would have ended up disliking huge public events. It�s not that I�m not down with the people--I am one with my brothers and sisters in the political sense!--I just don�t like rubbing up against the hoi polloi if I can help it.

That said, I should take a moment and do something unthinkable: urge my countrymen to vote for Chirac. He is a jackass, but anything would be better than that pinhead Le Pen. Normally I would go vote, but I am not yet registered at the consulate down here.

Vanessa has invited me to some Mexican restaurant in Los Feliz (not Mexico City) to celebrate Cinco de Mayo, and I�m not sure if I will go. Although it would be a good excuse to bust out my new pants! Yes, I bought some pants yesterday at what is now my favorite store. It�s some dingy army surplus place on Santa Monica, across from the 3 of Clubs, and they have tons of Dickies for girls. The place is so beat that midway through my shopping adventure, it started to rain inside on the very pants I was contemplating. The store�s solution was to throw a tarp down on the racks and mop up the water. They didn�t seem too concerned with the source of the leak, so I guess it must happen pretty often. The funny part about the pants is that they are cropped (well, on everybody else, not on me) and so fucking Chola! Oh my god, I put them on last night when I came home, and realized that I�m a homegirl, Danny! They are really cute on, and were less than $40 and remind me of some pants I almost bought at Zara in Paris.

After the pants expedition, I had lunch with Hilary at some little Mexican place called Zumaya. We almost went to Le Caf� du Village on Larchmont. Weird how there�s so much Mexican and French mixing it up this weekend, �you got chocolate in my peanut butter� style. I had a quesadilla smothered in tomatillo sauce and it was so yummy and reminded me that I know how to make that (and it�s really easy, and there�s a latino grocery right around the corner and they have tons of tomatillo!) I just need to find a purveyor of decent tortillas.

9:26 a.m. - 2002-05-05

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: