powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Marie-Antoinette, c'est moi

The results of the cake tasting are in. I am going to get a raspberry lemon cake and I am really looking forward to photographing it. It�s light blue and white and pink and very pretty. Almost prettier than it tastes if you were to rate them on the same type of scale eventhough I know it�s like apples and oranges. We lined up the slices on the table and it looked like a Wayne Thiebaud painting.

Everyone but Terence laughs about how finicky I am about food. In my mind, I am not finicky at all. I just have Standards and expect Things to be a certain Way. I know that sounds ridiculous, but whenever I go out to eat with friends, I am the one eating everything; everybody else always seems to be chasing a piece of something around their plates, or asking for the seared tuna cooked all the way through, or stacking their anchovies on a napkin or whatever. I never do this. The only food that I can think of that I will not eat EVER is bell pepper.

The raspberry lemon cake was tasty but it was too cold (from the fridge) so I will have to let it sit out for a while before I slice into it on Friday. There were 4 of us tasting cake yesterday, and everyone seemed to lovelovelove all the different flavors; then when Terence and I were in bed, he asked me what I really thought of the cakes, and I said that I had been disappointed. He said he was as well. Reassurance is nice sometimes.

I got two checks for my birthday. Yay for New York vacation money! I can�t believe I leave next week. I haven�t even had time to prepare psychologically. Next week will be a flurry of laundry, dry cleaning, house cleaning and ducks in a row-ing. I am actually looking forward to sitting on a plane for 6 hours.

I don�t really have anything very exciting report except that I need a new lipstick. I�ve actually worn mine down to a flat nubbin, and for a while I entertained thoughts of Restraint in the form of using up my other lipsticks before buying a new one. What am I, insane? Nars Dolce Vita cannot replace Mac Desire! Nothing can. Well, that�s not true, but I�m riding a surging wave of exaggeration.

10:16 a.m. - 2002-05-09

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: