powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fever in, fever out

C�est l�heure de l�ap�ro.

This is probably one of my most favorite French customs. Terence is having a beer, and I am having a lovely glass of port. He put a little plate of amuse-gueules together, and we are nibbling crackers, Comt�, cornichons and peperoncini. It�s such a relaxing, civilized way to transition into evening and dinnertime. And the best part is that I am here, typing away, while Terence is busy in the kitchen, getting some kind of meal together.

I turned in the second galleys today, paid bills, swept the front stairs, and did a little shopping. I originially only wanted to go out to get mustard, but ended up buying lots of other things and NO mustard. Grrrr. The store was all out of regular Maille--all they had left were foofy, stupid flavored mustards, so instead I had to get a bottle of ros�, a popsicle mold, a little smelly candle, and some used cds (not at the same store, mind you.) I can�t wait to make popsicles! I�m fairly excited about the music purchases because I managed to find the latest Solex album for $8 and an old Luscious Jackson one for the same price.

Did I mention that I met one of Luscious Jackson�s former members when I was in Manhattan in May? We had lunch with her at the 2nd Avenue Deli, and she was a rad New Yorker. She�s a friend of a friend of ours, and she made us feel right at home. I guess I should have bought the LJ album at full price so that she could get some money from royalties, but I was high on the bargain and not really thinking clearly. Sometimes I am a shithead.

I also bought some cool letterpress cards on sale at Anthropologie. They were 50% off! Woohoo, I loves the cheap stuff. Actually, 5 cards for ten bucks is not cheap, but the cards are handmade and very pretty, and I figure it�s good karma to support the graphic designer who created them. The best part of the transaction happened at the register as I was signing the receipt. The cashier asked me and Terence if we were looking forward to the July 4th holiday, and Terence replied, �I�m going to drink all weekend and set things on fire! Yeaaaaaaah!� The cashier looked very confused.

7:21 p.m. - 2002-07-02

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: