powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

C'est jeudi

I had an appointment at the optometrist�s office today which means I got a new pair of contacts. The optometrist had me put them in after he�d plopped some numbing drops into my eyes and it felt so strange sticking a contact on my eyeball and NOT BEING ABLE TO FEEL THE EYEBALL. I had an odd paranoia that he was going to take advantage of my numb eyeballs in some sort of inappropriate way, and I actually looked around the room for my glasses. My purse was stashed safely behind me.

I am not normally distrusting of physicians but optometrists are a special case. You see, they are not really doctors! And this I learned only a few short months ago. I especially don�t trust optometrists whose offices are basically an excuse to sell expensive eyewear. Are you a shopkeeper or a health care provider?

I�ve been floating without moorings ever since my childhood optometrist retired. Eventhough I know he wasn�t a *real* doctor, I had confidence in him because he wore wingtips and funny plaid pants, every ensemble topped by a pristine white lab coat. He looked like a scientist and was old and had ancient equipment and therefore I trusted him.

I gravitate towards physicians who seem to cultivate that doddering professor vibe; they�ve got to be older (so I know their equipment is already paid for,) they�ve got to either have no music, classical music or Magic 61-type oldies music in the waiting area, they should be a little on the irascible side, and be suspicious ofmedical things advertised on tv or in magazines. A shabby or indifferent decorating scheme in the offices is also good. I find comfort in knowing that my money is not going towards posh furnishings and other accoutrements. Of course, my money could very easily be going into a giant trust fund for the doctors� snotty children, but as along as I don�t see their little Harvard asses prancing about the waiting room, I�m ok. My reconstructive surgeon�s offices were a little on the threadbare side, but that did not dissuade me from engaging him to do my breast reduction. I had a friend accompany me to one of my follow-up appointments and she, being a fancy girl, was a little disturbed at the d�cor... until I showed her my adorable, tiny, perky boobs whereupon she changed her tune. It�s hard to turn off your inner aesthete, I know, but when a sad waiting room can result in the two cutest little titties on the West Coast, well then, you just have to reconsider a lot of things, don�t you?

All of this said, I should be honest about my dentist. His office is in the medical building at 450 Sutter in San Francisco, and that building is soooooo beautiful. It�s art deco, with elevator attendants, and the dentist�s offices have the most magical view of the City! Plus, he�s my friend Dave�s dad, and he is just the greatest, sweetest, most charming dentist on the planet. His suite of rooms is very nice and soothing, and when you�re in the chair, having your teeth cleaned, you forget about everything because the view is incredible.

In other news, I signed up for Goldmember status so get ready for some pictures one of these days.

6:18 p.m. - 2002-07-11

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: