powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

List-o-rama

An odd assortment of days.

First, the owner of the yoga studio called me up and I immediately started hyperventilating because I thought she was calling me to complain about my having improperly input something into the system (highly likely,) employee theft (highly unlikely,) accounting inaccuracies (unlikely because they don�t reconcile the drawer with what gets input into the system.) But no, thank god, she wanted my input into some design projects. She would like me to help her out with the website, and some other little projects. She offered to pay me in half fee/half trade, and I said that would suit me fine. So not only will I be learning the ins and outs of running a yoga studio by doing work exchange, I will now also be behind the scenes, creating flyers, schedules and other printed ephemera. Pretty nifty to have combined two interests.

Second, I got new contact lenses. This is news because I haven�t bought new ones for almost 2 years, and I wear disposables. The doctor asked me how often I changed my lenses, and I told him that my method for discerning when the lenses are ready to be pitched was very unscientific. He laughed. I mean, it�s like those Brita filters. They�d like you to change the filter a million times just so they can sell more filters. Same thing with contacts. I change them when they start to look funky, or feel uncomfortable, which I know is wrong, but whatever. The point is I can now wear my sunglasses in the blazing LA sun, and can do yoga without glasses slipping off my nose. Yay!

Third, I got two new hats for blocking out the sun�s deadly rays, and they were such a bargain. One was $6.99. the other $2.99.

Fourth, I�m designing my rockstar friend�s emailable flyer, and it�s pretty fun. Of course, she hates all the pictures that the photographer took, so I have a feeling that no amount of color changes, Photoshop manipulation, groovy typography will make her see her image any differently. But I�m crossing my fingers that she at least approves a direction.

Fifth, I�m waiting for the publisher to hand over third galleys. I leave for San Francisco tomorrow morning, so I�m going to have to bring my laptop and work while there. Not such a bad thing because I can cruise by my old office, and �borrow� the DSL for a while. But it�s sort of stressing me out anyway because it means that in addition to packing clothes and other sundries for the trip, I now have to make sure I have all of my work crap too.

Sixth, I have to spend part of today buying gifts for the bride whose shower is tomorrow. Normally, I would enjoy this type of shopping but as there�s a deadline attached, I no like at ALL. The good news is that I know what types of things to look for, and I�ve made a list of stores that I like. I am hoping to be laser exact in my mission.

Seventh, I made a list of all the folks in SF that I�d like to see, and there�s no way I can see everyone. So I had to eliminate the people with fresh new babies because they cannot be spontaneous and require too much planning. The danger, of course, is that SF being the small city that it is, I will no doubt bump into the baby people anyway and be totally busted. So I�ve got to fly under the radar a bit and keep things on the down low. That�s where the hats and the sunglasses come in.

11:53 a.m. - 2002-07-18

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: