powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jive jobs for chump change

I am so busy, it�s making me a little crazy. And sweaty. The minute I start thinking about all of the things I have to do, my body temperature goes up, like, 20 degrees. I am drinking water like there�s no tomorrow, and I don�t have any tank t-shirts left. And I�m not working topless because my neighbors wouldn�t appreciate the show.

It�s especially crazy since practically all of the jobs that I am working on do NOT pay:

1. designing cds and promos/flyers for the rockstar will really only pay if she gets signed. And then there�s no guarantee she�ll be loyal to me when she gets a record deal--if she gets a giant budget, she could very well hire a rockstar designer.

2. consulting with my friend on the design of his architecture book. He�s barely getting paid by the publisher, so there�s very little left over for me. However, there�s a chance he will pay me in furniture. He has loads in a warehouse in San Francisco, and I need a sofa.

3. designing posters and flyers for the yoga school. I just calculated that 1 large poster, 7 little ones and 1 flyer will cost around $2000, and that doesn�t include printouts or supplies. They will flip when they get my estimate. They can opt to pay me half cash, half trade, but they are notoriously cheap. (This is just what I�ve heard.)

4. designing my own secret line of somethin� which is costing me money. No return on that investment of time yet. Maybe in a few months.

And I still haven�t been paid by the publisher for my production work. I hate having to nag, but it looks like they will be receiving yet another email reminder from me. God, I hate that shit. It�s a measly $1500. Why can�t they cough up the dough-re-mi?

Friday, I am going to try to crash a printmaking class at Santa Monica College. The class is full, the waiting list is full, and I am going to have to either a) flirt my way onto the roster, or b) pray that the flaky community college kids drop out and make space for me, or c) convince the teacher that I will be the best student EVER! Promise! I really believe I�ve got b) working my favor (I�ve been to enough junior colleges to know what the rate of attrition is.) I hope I get in because I really want to learn silkscreening. If I weren�t so damn busy I would sign up for lithography as well, but I don�t want to bite off more than I can chew. I�m soooo busy making no money.

Ok, I�m boring. Time for a nap.

4:04 p.m. - 2002-08-28

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: