powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Flyin' high on my first coffee

Before I recap Friday and Saturday events, I have this to tantalize you with:

Tired of Korn?

Tired of Slipknot?

Tired of Creed?

Tired of people making fun of your sensitive emo ass?

Get thee to this site and crack some skulls!!!

http://emogame.com/

I died about a thousand emo deaths (and cried about it, naturally) but I got to kill a bunch of TRL girls and storm through a high school turning the football team into heaps of bloody bones. I still have not rescued the Get Up Kids, but I plan to wage a heroic battle for their freedom this afternoon.

<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-<-

The Gary Baseman opening was pretty nifty. It was at Wacko, a wacko store in Los Feliz that sells soap (it's a soap plant) and books and posters and collectibles and knick knacks. They have a gallery in the back, and it was crowded as hell. The show was called "I am your pi�ata" and most of the paintings featured pi�atas that were being eviscerated by sticks, or pi�atas with skeletons and entrails falling out. Disturbing, but also interesting--does a pi�ata have a soul? What does it mean to whack something to death with a stick, for candy and other prizes?

Anyway, there were two Baseman pi�atas, and one was ceremoniously broken up by some nutty revelers. I was very impressed with their proper pi�ata technique: blindfold the person, spin them around, hand them the stick, point them in the direction of the pi�ata, and GO! Smash it up! Smash it up! Smash it up!

When the pi�ata finally broke open, I did exactly as I did as a kid, and threw caution to the wind, diving down between people to get at the treats and guess what I got? A cigarette butt! That's right, in the moonlight, the butt looked like bubblegum, and by the time the disappointment registered on my face, I realized there was absolutely no candy left on the ground. Waahhhh.

Fortunately, a restorative cocktail at Michael's Room did the trick to lift my temporary depression.

Last night, I ventured back out to the eastside to see a show at Spaceland. I was supposed to see The Minders and Of Montreal, but The Minders were a no-show due to van trouble. The good news is that I actually got to see the first band (I always miss the first band. Always. It's not really intentional, it's just, I don't know why, I just do.) And the first band was really good! They are called Let's Go Sailing and it's two people from Irving. They have a keyboard (my favorite) and a viola! Yay! Go see them if they play in your town. I got a $3 demo cd and let me tell you, it's a bargain at twice the price.

9:50 a.m. - 2002-10-06

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: