powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dinnertime

Let me echo a diaryland sentiment that has been repeated for the last 5 days: I hate daylight savings time!

It wreaks havoc with my circadian rhythms, I can�t sleep, I can�t stay awake, it�s just a bloody nuisance changing all of the clocks in the house. Let me just be OUT about my dislike for this twice yearly annoyance.

I�m here, I�m tired, and I�m not used to it!

Today I finished printing my second series. They�re merely ok, and here�s why: there was a bunch of weird shit in the emulsion so as a result my prints all look like asphalt. There isn�t a single area of my prints with a solid coat of ink. Everything looks like it�s been strangely mezzotinted. I�m just looking forward to using the power washer again to get rid of all the little spots, leftover ink and stupid block out goo. Of course, the teacher was MIA for most of the class, as were most of the students. Ahhh, community college.

One girl in the class showed up two hours late and still in costume. I think. Her eyebrows were plucked to within a hairline of their lives (and the brows started mid eye so it looked very odd, like two little horizontal parenthesis, ) she wore a pink long sleeve t-shirt underneath a cream-colored sleeveless ruched one, and she had white and silver extra long, acrylic talons with jewels on them. Since this girl is just out of high school, and seems completely clueless in class, I figured it was probably a good idea that I didn�t ask her if she was white trash for Halloween. And she hardly seems like the ironic type.

Another girl, this one tiny and Latina, I�ve nickamed Kewpie. She never gets anything done in class. She spends the entire time talking to these japanese kids, and doodling in her sketchbook. Today she was telling someone about having bruises from last night�s Dashboard Confessional show. �It was really too violent,� she lamented. They�re like the emo-ist emo band! Maybe her shoe-gazing got out of control and she fell down?

One of the Pocket Homies game me some Halloween candy. My new best friend is named Miguel.

The studio space that I checked out yesterday was ok. The guy acted like all he had left to do was put in lights and seal the concrete floor, but I think it needs more. For one, there are no windows, ergo no natural light. I could open the garage doors to get light and fresh air, but then I would have no privacy. I�m torn because it�s the first smallish (300 sq. ft) studio I�ve seen in my own neighborhood, and I know it�s going to go fast. I could paint one wall, or at least put up a bunch of white paper to brighten it up, but I don�t know how to get around the ventilation/privacy thing. Terence, ever the bricoleur, suggested we build a sliding wall with translucent , movable panels that I could just drag across the garage door opening when it was open. I don�t know, I�ve got to think about it. That seems like a lot of work for a space I may not inhabit very long.

The other thing is there�s a vacant apartment in the building itself and it�s a huge 2 BR. I�m going to see if I can look at it tomorrow. I�m not really in the market for a new apartment, but the landlord said he�d charge us the same rent we�re paying now (for a 1 BR) if we also take the garage/studio space. It�s really tempting. The idea of that much space is very seductive, but then again, I haven�t seen the place. Maybe it�s a dump?

The funny part is, the minute I met the landlord, I knew the space was mine if I wanted it. I just got a feeling from the guy, so now I just have to see the apartment to make a decision.

I am very excited because tonight, I am making risotto and Terence is going to hang a new little IKEA cabinet in the bathroom. I�m going to finish a compilation cd for a friend, and maybe make dessert. I am also looking forward to recipe research since I just got my formal invitation to this year�s potluck Thanksgiving. Shall I make vegetarian stuffing? Mashed potatoes and parsnips? Ooooooh, maybe I�ll make Nigella�s pumpkin, radicchio and feta salad! I am getting way too excited about food. And this means I should start the risotto cause I�m starving.

7:03 p.m. - 2002-11-01

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: