powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Me first

Last week was one of the worst weeks in recent memory.

First, Terence came down with the flu. Then, my friend came to visit without an agenda or a demonstration of initiative. Wednesday, I had to get up earlier than humanly conceivable for a battery of annoying health tests. Later, my other friend needed help with her grad show, so Sick Terence and I went to Pasadena to assist in constructing the �booth.� Friday I had a final and Terence found out he�s not going to Korea. Saturday, we went back to Pasadena for a graduation and a lunch afterwards. Sunday, I had book club.

Little to no grocery shopping, laundry, cleaning, tidying, dishes, yoga, reading and work was done that entire time.

To add insult to injury, I was cranky and crampy and bloaty and impatient.

In my usual bipolar, reactive manner, today became the Day of Errands. I returned videos and library books, went to Hilary�s to make sure her straightening iron had been turned off, bought organic produce at the market, stopped at Trader Joe�s for other supplies, deposited a check, went to Santa Monica College to expose the screen that will eventually become my holiday card, got drenched in a downpour and spent the rest of the afternoon walking around in squishy water-logged shoes, ate a gigantic bowl of ramen, browsed at Giant Robot, crashed at Peet�s for coffee, then home again home again, wee wee wee.

My shoes are now stuffed with newspaper to absorb the excess water. I am drinking tea and starting to feel like my normal self. One client sent me the rest of a manuscript so I can begin work tomorrow, and Wednesday, I have a meeting with another client for another little assignment. Things are looking up.

My mother keeps calling me, asking about my Christmas list. I don�t know what I want. Well, that�s not exactly true. I know what I want, but she can�t afford to get it for me (and anyway, I would never ask. She�s retired and I don�t want her spending insane amounts of money. Of course, Terence has already informed me that she�s apt to spend a ton anyway because that�s what she likes to do and I can�t stop her, so I should just tell her what I want and give her options and not worry about it. My god, I�m lucky to have such a sound mind nearby.) But she�s not going to get the list with the Louis Vuitton watch, the Pucci scarf and the Jasper Morrison sake set on it. I think I�ll just email her a list of Amazon links.

It was difficult having Terence gone for an entire week, then having a visitor for nearly a week. He and I barely had time to get reacquainted when he got back. We didn�t have sex for almost two weeks! An eternity! Plus he was sick, and bedtime was no fun with his coughing and hacking and nose blowing. He�s feeling better, we had sex, and now I�m feeling better, and that�s really all that counts.

6:12 p.m. - 2002-12-16

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: