powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Coeur inapais�

I woke up this morning having dreamt something truly delicious.

I dreamt about my fake boyfriend, Bertrand Burgalat.

In the first part of the dream, we had a printmaking class together, and he was creating these 60�s-inspired torn paper collages with lots of color. He asked me to help him because I was the only other person who spoke French. So we�re working away, and class is almost over, and our collaboration is going swimmingly, when he leans in across the table, looks me in the eye and asks if I�d like to go to a movie sometime.

�Oui� I said in my breathiest, Frenchiest French.

I rode my scooter home with a giant grin on my face. It was unreal. I could feel the wind in my hair (this is how I know it was a dream: I wasn�t wearing a helmet.)

So anyway, later on in the dream (could be a day or two, maybe a week... the time never seems to check out when I wake up...) Bertrand comes by my place to pick me up, and he looks devilishly* handsome with his Playmobile haircut, natty Nouvelle Vague outfit and sand-colored Clark�s desert boots. The only thing I remember about my own outfit is that I had on a camel colored belted coat very similar to the one in Marc Jacobs� Spring 2003 collection (as worn by Shalom Harlow.) We hop in Bertrand�s little d�capotable, and speed off to some theater. We�re getting really cozy as the lights dim, and as the screen starts to light up, I begin recognizing the title design. It�s his printmaking/collage experiment come to life! There�s type and color and movements and layering and the soundtrack is lovely because of course, he composed it. I am swooning like a complete ninny as he wraps his arm around me, and I swear I felt so giddy and girlish in my dream, I was CRAZY REAL I tell you. Even as I type this, I am getting goosebumps and wishing I was back in my dream. He nuzzled my neck! And gave me little bisous that sent shivers down my spine!

It was all so chaste and lovely. A true, blue dreamy dream.

I know that the dream was caused by the mix cd that I�m making. At first, the cd was going to feature my usual favorites (Bertrand, April March, Beck, The Aislers Set, blahblahblah) but last night as I was juxtaposing songs, it occurred to me that I might want to make the compilation entirely French. A Gallic Fantasia, if you will. So far, the music conjures soft, gray sky Parisian afternoons and it makes me want to cuddle and drink a nearly-thick-as-pudding chocolat chaud from Les Deux Magots.

* I�m borrowing this adverb from Gentry.

5:58 p.m. - 2002-12-20

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: