powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dec. 31th through Jan. 2nd 2003 wrap-up

Here is the rest of the holiday roundup:

December 31st

Ran a bunch of errands in the morning with a friend who was hosting a giant New Year�s Eve party. Went to a costume shop on Hollywood and got Terence an eye patch to complete his Shag-themed outfit. Later, fearlessly searched for a black turtleneck at cRoss Dress For Less and scored one for $5.99. Got the shirt home, cut an ellipse out over the boob area, and sewed the opening into a neat shape. My costume consisted of the black turtleneck, black pants, black patent leather maryjanes and a beret. Lots of people told me I looked like a beatnik so I felt successful. The party was insanely fun. Harriet managed to squeeze over 50 people into her darling little apartment. There were batches of different cocktails, food, noise makers, champagne, and lots of groovy dancing to James Brown. Terence got a bad vibe from some drunk idiot (who apparently, put his shoulder into Terence� back as some sort of �retaliation� for something or other) and got permission to throw the guy out on his ear. There�s a cute polaroid of me somewhere at Harriet�s house; if I can find it, I�ll scan it and throw it in here.

January 1st 2003

Didn�t get out of bed until 1 in the afternoon. I took some tylenol, drank a bunch of water, took a shower and still felt like a shell of myself. In the afternoon, Terence and I helped Harriet with final cleanup, ate leftover party snacks, rented movies and ordered Chinese takeout.

January 2nd 2003

Wrote the rent check and plunged immediately into that dark cave of financial insecurity. No yoga was done. No bills were paid. No groceries were bought. No laundry was accomplished. The house, however, was cleaned, and some work was done. I called a client to see if he'd sent me a check and he informed me that he hadn't received an invoice from me. Ugh. Then Terence told me not to worry; he would begin draining his 401k for our living expenses. That made me feel worse. I suppose that if there's going to be more hardship in 2003, I'd rather it occurred at the beginning of the year than at the end.

12:14 p.m. - 2003-01-03

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: