powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Revelations for 2003

I�m very busy for a virtually unemployed person.

I�ve got an electronic flyer to design for The Rock Star, a logo to refine for another would-be Star, a poster to start conceptualizing on (I�ve got the lo-res images but no copy,) and my own website to work on. I am also waiting for Mister Bingo to send me some Quark files to review, and for the publishers to send me 2nd galleys for corrections.

In the meantime, I have sent some samples to a recruiter, been rejected for two new projects (I say �reject� which is actually incorrect since neither of the clients ever called me back to officially unsolicit my services) and considered selling one of my prized Marc Jacobs� items on EBAY.

I should state for the record that Terence does not want me to sell anything of value on EBAY or anywhere else. Once the item�s gone, he says, it�s gone forever and it�ll be a) impossible or b) very expensive to get it back if I have regrets later on. It�s hard to argue with that logic. So for the time being, I won�t be auctioning anything off.

If, however, there is someone out there with Fall 2000 Marc Jacobs handbags for trade, please inquire within. The older bags have cotton faille lining which I prefer to the current suede; it�s easier to fish around for lipstick and such when the lining is slippery. Suede is nice, and raises the price quite a bit, but it�s simply not as user friendly.

Let me now complain about David Yurman jewelry. It is hideous and bourgeois. I don�t have trouble understanding why he�s so popular, but I resoundingly renounce his work. Other so-called artists + designers + mediahogs whose oeuvre will be rejected by me in 2003:

1. Shepard Fairey. Enough already! Give copycats something new to plagiarize.

2. All illustrators now referred to as �low-brow artists.� I love this type of work but let�s call it what it is: illustration. The new appellation is pretentious and irritating.

3. Nic Harcourt. Crikey, he bugs.

4. Ross Lovegrove. Talk about big, fat copycats! Sheesh.

5. Coldplay. I don�t care if the lead singer is dating Gwyneth; his band is boring.

That�s it for now.

11:38 a.m. - 2003-01-14

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: