powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A heartbreaking list of staggering nonsense

A few things that aren�t related but that I wanted to post for posterity:

1. Fat punk rock girls bum me out. It�s like they�re not angry enough. When you�re angry, you don�t eat. I saw some on Sunday and they bummed me out. It was just a fashion statement and it pissed me off because there was so little thought or research or conviction in their ripped fishnets and plaid mini-skirts. Kids these days...

2. Michael Chabon is writing the screenplay to his book, The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay. Word on the street in Hollywood is that the screenplay is better than the book. I don�t know how this is possible, but this is what �they� are saying. In my book club we discussed casting choices (this is what happens at the end of the book discussion when you live in Los Angeles and when 50% of the book club members work for entertainment companies.) We picked Adrien Brody to be Joe Kavalier.

3. I may play keyboards in a band. Somehow my mentioning that I knew what a Moog was led to me to state that I love keyboards and organs which led me to say �sure, I mean, if you could train a monkey to play the keyboards on a few songs, surely I could be trained!� So The Rock Star is going to start looking for a used keyboard for me to practice on at home, and then later I can go to her place and practice with her. Nutty.

4. I saw Tommy Guerrero at the little flea market in my neighborhood on Sunday. I don�t think I�ve seen that guy in ages, and he looked exactly as he did as a teenager except with facial hair. It was a trip. I guess he�s a musician/dj now. Anyway, later sitting at a caf� with some friends, I mentioned it as part of a story about how San Francisco is a small city and how if you grow up there, you end up knowing a ton of different people because a lot of the disparate scenes hang out together (in my case: skaters, mods and scooter kids in the mid-to-late 80s) and this English guy we were with says, �Oh my god! You know him? He was the greatest skater! In England, I would buy all the Bones Brigades videos and try to copy him but we had no hills in London and he was like, made of rubber!� I had no idea that back in the day, people in England were trying to copy San Francisco street skating style. It was funny. The English guy was so excited that I felt a confessional rush come on and revealed that I'd grown up with a famous skater (he lived across the street,) dated a sponsored one who lived with T.G., had a crush on Barry McGee when he rode a fucked-up Lambretta and was studying at City College (the guy was soooo shy,) and probably attended a zillion parties where all of these famous people were in attendance.

I just woke up from a 2 hour nap and feel woozy.

5:46 p.m. - 2003-02-17

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: