powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Turning over a gray leaf

In a store the other day, I saw a completely LA chick (uber-tanned, straight blonde hair tousled just so, shiny JLo sunglasses, glossy pink lips, round pneumatic globes for a poitrine) with *this* tattooed on the back of her neck:

G U C C I

Yes, it was the logo. Not only that, it was the logo surrounded by a rectangle, the edges of which were dashed lines to indicate the periphery of the label.

That�s what I call brand loyalty.

As a Taurus, I am naturally predisposed to being super loyal. About everything: food, clothes, people, beauty products, books, music, films, designers... You name it and I either love it or hate it. Un point, c�est tout.

It�s a tendency that I�m trying to monitor right now, this need to polarize. I feel like I spend altogether too much time in black and white, seeing things and the world as either right or wrong. Reality is all shades of gray and I�m in a mood to appreciate some of the nuances.

But it�s fucking hard when either by nature or nurture, you�ve become the kind of person who needs to be on a side of some kind. I am always rejecting teams and allegiances, so isn�t it kind of hypocritical for me to be the sort of person who belongs to one camp or another?

We at rue-madame are now rejecting sides of all kinds. We are going to become Switzerland!

I am only kidding of course. There is no way that I could completely cease and desist making snarky comments, capping on people, and engaging in the kind of wordplay that some might call catty but which I prefer to name "games of razor wit + acid tongue � la court of Louis XVI in �Ridicule.�"

This week�s rejections:

- Beverly Hills

- the idiots who feed the pigeons near Canter�s and Eat-A-Pita

- margarine of any kind, but especially the type that comes in a plastic tub

- Virasana or Hero pose

This week�s embraces (opposite of rejection?):

- Major Dickason�s Blend from Peet�s coffee

- melting all the little scraps of wax from old scented candles and creating a fresh, Frankenstein scent with a brand new wick

- Adrien Brody on my desktop

- Virasana or Hero pose

5:38 p.m. - 2003-04-02

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: