powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yellow cake with chocolate frosting

Time for more enthusiastic promotion of a local artistic talent! If you haven�t already done so, please go to this website and BUY, BUY, BUY! My supercute t-shirt is already on its way!

Next on the agenda is this: I am trying to ween myself off of coffee.

I don�t want to quit cold turkey, and I don�t want to eliminate coffee entirely from my routine. That would be crazytalk. I would just like to reduce the intake a bit. My usual routine is cappuccino in the morning, sometimes a 50/50 after lunch, and another 50/50 at 4 when I can�t lift my head off of my desk. Is that excessive? I feel like it may be. Most days, I intersperse tea into the routine (caffeinated, decaf, whatever�s in the cupboard) so there are days when I am zooming along, hopped up on all kinds of stimulants.

It feels great, but I think it is excessive.

As an experiment, yesterday I had just the one coffee in the am. I followed that with some green tea (still caffeinated but less so than coffee, and it�s an anti-oxidant!) and I had a screaming headache in my eyes for hours. I didn�t take aspirin because I was kinda curious about the coffee DTs.

This curiosity about the caffeine withdrawal lasted, oh, about two hours before I freaked out and found a medicinal remedy. I�ve found that the best way to deal with the coffee DTs is to switch to wine at 5 o�clock.

So yeah, I�m semi-quitting coffee, and instead, becoming an alcoholic! Alcoholics have more fun.

The only exciting things of import that I�ve done since the last entry have been:

- finished most of my website. It is devoid of Flashitude because neither TA nor I have mastered that bit of software. (And anyway if I used it, I would use it sparingly.) There�s a whole section that still needs images, and I hated to put the little �coming soon� part there, but fuck it, I was antsy to get it uploaded.

- watched �No Man�s Land.� I can�t believe I couldn�t get off my ass to see it when we were in Paris. Cr�tins! It�s a great movie. I can�t stop thinking about it.

- went to Forever XXI to find a cheapie top for that wedding I�m attending next week, and there was nothing! Nothing! Am I surprised? Not really. So today�s job is to check Urban Outfitters. There�s one about 10 minutes away (on foot! Walking in LA! My favorite Missing Persons song!) and that�s this afternoon�s field trip, after I check out...

- Starlight Mints! They�re playing a free show at Amoeba at 2 today and I can�t wait! They opened for Beulah forever ago, and I�ve never forgotten how tremendous they were live. I own their first CD and some singles, and I am superexcited!!! Can you tell???? OMG, go to here RIGHT NOW and listen to some mp3s, and be sure to watch the video for Popsicle. You won�t be disappointed.

- realized how desperately I need a jean/denim skirt. I looked for one last week during an ill-fated shopping excursion to Old Navy (don�t ask) and have become obsessed. Then last night, my friend Harriet was wearing brand new one that did not escape my hawk-like predatory senses and I swooped in for the kill with a hardly blas�, �Hey, that�s cute. Is it new?� Yes, and it was from the Gap, on sale too. A little online research yielded cute skirts by the likes of Seven, Earl and of course, Marc Jacobs, but I want to spend less than $40. I *need* this skirt before Thursday when I head to SF for Montana�s wedding and visits with friends. I know it will solve all of my current sartorial issues.

- understanding why there are waiting lists for these shoes. It�s crazy, I know: rubber flipflops with a kitten heel. Such a simple concept, and yet, so genius. I�ve seen the shoes in person, people, and they are indeed adorable. At $85 a pop, they�re the cheapest pair of Sigerson Morrison shoes you�ll ever own.

I wish I could have another coffee right now, but I think it�s time for tea. Ugh. The good news is that I made a cake last night, so I can have cake with my tea. Yay!

11:21 a.m. - 2003-06-01

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: