powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Supermodel (You Better Work)

Embarassing confession number 43: my new favorite tv show is America�s Next Top Model. I even made a special trip to the 99 cent store to get a vhs tape so I could tape it last week when I knew I�d be out of the house.

Last night, I actually cried--CRIED!-- when one of the girls was eliminated. I know! So maudlin and dumb of me. But hey, Tyra cried too, so there.

I have been thinking about this today, wondering why this reality show is different for me. I think it�s because the goal of this show is for one of the girls to fulfill her lifelong dream of becoming a model. I like it because none of the candidates has to woo and then marry a dolt, or plain hookup with another moronic dude--each has to learn skills.

Skills, even if they�re arcane and required only for modeling and pretty much nothing else, are still skills. I realize that modeling is not brain surgery, and that the skills required are not that difficult to master. This does not mean that they aren�t worthwhile to acquire. What else should you do when your genetic code has predetermined your suitability for modeling by giving you height, a thin figure, a superfast metabolism, and a pretty face? I say, if you have all of those things, you should at least try to be a model if you want. Who�s to say that my being a graphic designer was not pre-ordained by my genome? What would I be if I hadn�t learned a specialized set of skills?

Anyway, with the exception of maybe Elyse, all of the girls have wanted to be models for a long time, and they are all trying hard to fulfill all of the different assignments. That doesn�t seem wrong to me.

At the beginning of the show, I was only rooting for Elyse, but now I find myself cheering Adrianne on as well. Even if she doesn�t move her mouth when she talks, she is pretty damn funny, especially when she�s antagonizing the simpering Christians.

Enough about that.

Ten minutes before my yoga class ended this morning, I realized that Gina Gershon�s mat was in front and to the right of mine. I have no idea what her practice is like--I was so in my zone that I was oblivious to the people around me! That was sort of the goal of class, anyway--to practice more inwardly focused--so we did a lot of things very slowly, and some poses with our eyes closed. Challenging.

2:04 p.m. - 2003-06-25

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: