powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Snack attaque

�Seabiscuit� was better than I expected. Tobey Maguire looks weird with red hair, but he�s still adorable. I have to say, the casting was really good.

The highlight of the evening was getting to eat caramel popcorn, getting to sit in the best seats, and getting to jump to the front of the line. It�s nice to have friends with juice.

I am right now in a honey sesame stick addiction phase. Normally there are no snacks in this house, apart from the odd cracker bread, because snacks are the devil. The other day, though, I could not resist the honey sesame sticks� siren song and here I am, sitting at the computer, ears deep in crunchy oiliness. The serving size is 23 sticks. Yeah, like someone is going to be counting! The serving size should be �average man/woman greedy fistful.� That would make more sense.

Damn Trader Joe and his snack aisle!

Since it�s hotter than the surface of the sun, we are bbq�ing again. There�s rosemary chicken, yams, and a southwesty salad. The salad is my party specialty; whenever I�m invited to an outdoor get-together or some kind of celebratory cookout, I bring the salad as a dip and people go bananas. It�s gotten to the point where I�m automatically asked to bring the salad when the invitation is extended, prettyplease with a cherry on top. I�ve varied the recipe a bit by adding chopped cilantro and omitting the minced garlic, and it tastes even better, I think. Who knew that a can of black beans, a can of white beans, some frozen corn and spices could taste so damned delicious? I will post the recipe if enough of you clamor for it. And it�s vegetarian! (for those of you interested only in animals as your friends.)

In other exciting news, my younger sister called today. She�s going to be in LA the second weekend in August, and I am thinking that rather than have her sleep on an air mattress at my place, we should do a full metal apartment exchange! I�m going to call her and see if she�s game.

The last bit that made my day was writing a couple of invoices and realizing that one is for a job I didn�t account for and I�m thinking that that check will cover a new pair of shoes. I really need a present.

7:35 p.m. - 2003-07-15

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: