powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recipe corner

Once again, it�s super hot. I am cooling off by eating chilled lychees which are very refreshing.

I�ve got a ton to do, so I�ll skip the small talk and swandive straight into my sister�s black + white bean salsa. Though it is delicious on its own, the salsa tastes even better when eaten with good quality, crispy corn tortilla chips. I like the ones from La Palma Mexicatessen (in the Mission, in SF) and also those made by Casa Sanchez (another SF treat, but I think you can find them in other places.) My all-time favorite conveyance is just a giant spoon, so if you can�t find good chips, don�t worry about it.

Ingredients

3 tbsp corn oil

1 1/4 cups of corn kernels (fresh or frozen)

1 16-oz can of black beans, rinsed + drained

1 16-oz can of white beans (preferably small ones), rinsed + drained

3/4 cup red onion, chopped fine

2 tbsp fresh lime juice

3 cloves of garlic, pressed or minced

1 large jalapeno, seeded + minced

1 tbsp minced fresh oregano or 1 tsp dried

1 tbsp chili powder

1 1/2 tsp ground cumin

salt + pepper to taste

Directions

Saute corn in 1 tbsp of oil. Transfer to a bowl, and add all of the other stuff, season with salt and pepper as desired. Voila!

See? It�s stupidly easy to make. As I mentioned before, I�ve made a few changes over the years, and have found that substituting garlic with a big handful of chopped cilantro is quite tasty. I also add more lime juice than the recipe calls for because I like things tangy.

That�s it for today�s show.

1:59 p.m. - 2003-07-16

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: