powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Make-a-holic

A few things that have happened recently, in no particular order:

1. I was told by the asthma researcher that I am almost at non-compliance with my flaky unreliable medicine-taking, and that I�ve got to try to be more diligent. He did tell me that I could put all 4 respules in the nebulizer at once, rather than do two and two. Then he added that if I can�t be connected to the breathing tube for 40 minutes while the medicine makes its way into my lungs, then I should at least do it for 30 minutes. That sounds like a workable plan.

2. I tried to see Mars.

In truth, I have seen Mars. From my apartment. It�s hard to miss since it�s the brightest thing in the sky. Terence and I, and Harriet and her bf had dinner then trekked out to Griffith Park to see Mars through some high-powered telescopes. Because the only thing better than seeing Mars from your bedroom window, is seeing its ice caps and landscape with your own set of eyes. Unfortunately, it didn�t work out the way we planned, since we jumped from line to line, hoping for a shorter line to a better telescope, and in the end, after an hour, we ended up peering through the viewfinder of some amateur�s $129.99 Radio Shack contruction and we didn�t see jack.

At least, the planet�s in the sky until October. So I�ve got two months to befriend an astronomer with some kick-ass equipment.

3. Ha! I love that last sentence.

4. Before the Mars viewing, there was eating, courtesy of Harriet and her expense account. We ate at Puran�s on Vermont, and it was yummy. Having great friends is... well, great, but even better than great friends are great friends with corporate cards. Yay expense accounts!

5. I signed up for some classes. I am taking a preliminary Flash class and the second installment of my texture/surface design class. That should keep me busy for a while. I also considered doing the yoga teacher training this term, but felt my committment was not what it should be. $1900 is a big investment to make when you�re not even 100% certain of your degree of purpose.

6. I talked to my friend Tracy yesterday who said that she thinks of me as one of those superbusy wonderwomen, and that sounded strange to me. I always feel like I�m not doing enough, and that I am constantly wasting valuable time. She said I have a disorder that�s similar to anorexia, only instead of being obsessed with food, I am obsessed with accomplishing, accomplishing, accomplishing. I think I just keep occupied as a way to obliterate the fact that I have no money, no work, few prospects, a dwindling 401k, and a LOT of anxiety about the future. I have plenty of time, and it�s got to be filled up with pro bono projects, yoga, work exchange, home improvements, school, reading, diarylanding, writing or I will lose my mind and any self esteem that remains.

7. My mother just interrupted me with a phone call. She and my father are back from France. I am no longer safe on US soil.

8. Was I ever?

10:25 a.m. - 2003-08-28

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: