powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh, those ancient Greeks

I should never doubt my older sister�s recommendations.

She suggested I read Life of Pi a zillion years ago, and I�m only now just getting around to it. What a great book! I can�t put it down. I gasp and laugh out loud while I�m reading.

There are very few books that can provoke that kind of reaction. My sister feels like these are the ones you should read once a year. I agree.

She�s off to the Grand Caymans today to scuba dive for 10 days and she�s taking The Odyssey with her. My nephew has to read it in English this semester, so my sister--�berMom--is reading it before him in anticipation of questions and discussions. It helps that she�s got a good translation, and that The Odyssey kicks Homeric Ass.

On my first date with Terence, I went to his house and sat on his bed facing his bookcase. His room was immaculate (bed, made! dust, gone!) and what few treasures he had were organized neatly on the shelves. He didn�t have many books but he had:

- On the Road, The Dharma Bums, and Desolation Angels

- Trout Fishing in America

- The Iliad

- The Odyssey

- some crazy hippy cookbook his parents contributed to

- some other tomes that didn�t impress me as much (I was 21, what do you expect?)

I remember saying, �The Iliad, The Odyssey? What classes did you read those for?�

His answer? �No class. I just read them for fun.�

I was really surprised. Who would read those for fun? They�re totally school books! He laughed and said that I�d had the exact same reaction as his friend Liz. �Nobody reads those for fun,� she had said.

I didn�t realize it at the time, but that fact--the fact that Terence would read Homer for his own edification, because he was curious and wanted to know more--is one of the most attractive things about him. It was so sexy to me! That, and he was playing rugby and running 5 miles a day at the time and had the cutest, hardest, hottest little body ever!

I just told Terence what I was writing about in this diary, and he said, �I knew it would score chicks!�

He has no idea.

9:55 a.m. - 2003-09-05

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: