powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The transformative power of me

I can�t stop fussing with my hair. It is possibly the second greatest haircut of my life.

The first occurred in 1997 in San Francisco at a salon called Architects + Heroes. It was life-changing and for $45, an inexpensive metamorphosis. So changed was I that for an entire week, people would stop by my desk, just for a looksie.

This latest style is different, but I think I�ve come to realize that I really prefer my hair to be ear�s length. Any longer, and it becomes an unmanageable curly mess that expands outwards as much as it grows downward. I like the expensive hair salves as much as the next gal, but sometimes you want your little pots and tubes to last more than a month and with shorter hair, this is possible. (How about if a $26 tube of Kerastase Elasto-Curl leave-in lasted more than 3 weeks?)

Enough about the hair. I�m beginning to sicken even myself.

All of you people out there who are wondering about the government�s Do Not Call list should go and register here. My browser�s security certificate process got a little wiggy, but I think that�s ok. I just used one of my fakie email addresses (ok, it�s real, but it�s not my �real� one if that makes any sense. It�s one of the ones I�ve devised for baiting-and-switching Spam.)

On the entertainment front: I highly recommend The Triplets of Belleville. I�m not a huge fan of animation (I know, I know, there goes at least 1/4 of my indie cred) but this, I liked. The caricatures of French people were spot-on, and the music was great. Oh, and I�m very excited about the remake of The Producers! A film about a bad musical becomes a good musical about a bad musical, achieves tremendous success on Broadway then re-becomes a film. Rinse. Repeat.

I�ve been to yoga twice in the new year and I�m still alive. My legs and arms are sore, but I�m still walking erect. I�ve already made progress in 2004: yesterday I moved from sirsasana 2 into side crow. Classes have been super fun and they made me realize how much I�m going to miss the studio and certain teachers. In the last two years, my practice has transformed by more than I ever could have imagined, and I have a lot of people to thank before I go to CT.

I have a lot of thank you cards to buy. Shit, and I still haven�t been to Meltdown. How can it be that I�ve been up for HOURS and shops aren�t open? I guess I�ll just have to go back to bed. PS: Special shout-out to the Parisians: The Essex Green and The Ladybug Transistor are playing Guinguette on Friday night.It'll be a groovy 60s dance party, 20h, 8 euros, a bargain at twice the price!

8:56 a.m. - 2004-01-07

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: