powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy trails

Nobody checks their luggage anymore. It�s maddening.

Obviously, I am a luggage-checker.

For one, I am short and hate a) hoisting luggage into an overhead compartment by standing on the seat, and b) asking people for assistance. They always look so smug afterwards, as if they�d just completed an act of philanthropy. Fuck you tall people!

For two, I hate shoving things under the seat in front of me. There�s very little leg room to begin with so why would you want to reduce it?

My philosophy is if you travel light, you get on and off the plane with ease, and can walk unencumbered throughout the terminals in between connecting flights.

This is not so with people who refuse to check luggage.

Maybe they think it�s safer because their luggage won�t get lost? How often does luggage get lost, anyway? I�ve travelled a lot, and my luggage�s never been lost (of course now I�m jinxed.)

Or maybe they think that they save time by avoiding the luggage carousel? Is the luggage carousel that big of a time-suck? I believe I have waited longer in the aisles of the plane waiting for these anti-luggage-checkers to collect their crap from above and below than I have EVER waited at the baggage carousel.

The carousel? People have such crappy luggage! It�s shocking. I mean, if you travel once in a blue moon, ok, you can be forgiven for owning cheap and poorly made luggage. But everybody else? What�s their excuse?

I was beginning to feel a little bit bratty, a little bit Holden Caulfield complaining about his roommate�s bad luggage. Of course, Holden�s family had money and could afford to buy him a matching Cross set, and his roommate was not as affluent so he was always borrowing Holden�s suitcases...

There�s something to be said for investing in quality and for looking at something like a luggage purchase as an investment. You don�t have to own a matching set of Vuitton or Goyard to travel in style. Delsey or Tumi will do.

1:28 p.m. - 2004-02-16

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: