powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Travelling, bling bling

I once read a chapter from a book about investing. In it, the author Peter Lynch claimed that investors who say, �It can�t get any worse� or �It can�t go any lower� are wrong.

Things can always get worse.

This is the lonely kernel of knowledge that I took away from that one single chapter, and the last two years have proven Mr Lynch right. Every time I thought I would land a paying project, I didn�t. Terence sent out hundreds of resumes, had tens of interviews, and was still unemployed. While it�s possible for two people to live on less than $20k, I wouldn�t recommend it.

So it�s really strange, just a few months into 2004, to be in the position of considering real estate, of actually qualifying for $300k mortgages, of living rent-free for 4 months while we search for a permanent place, of flying cross-country for a funeral without batting an eyelash, of debating whether or not to defer entrance to grad school while we pay off debt.

And now I learn that Terence has an inheritance.

Crazy, huh?

I will write about the funeral and family freaks a little later, but first I would like to leave you with this: on one of our flights, a ferret escaped from its cage, and the entire plane nearly went apeshit. I�ve never seen so many people get their feet on their seats so quickly.

11:10 a.m. - 2004-04-05

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: