powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Framing my fearful symmetry

Believe it or not, I had a celebrity sighting today. In New Haven!

That�s right. While I was getting my haircut, I met the mayor of New Haven. That�s what passes for celebrity in this little hamlet.

The salon owner is the mayor�s stylist, and he just stopped by after lunch to chat with her. He was very much a politico, all gray suit and booming voice. He made sure that everyone noticed his presence.

Enola (the salon owner) was the one who urged him to get rid of the savings-and-loan hair and go �au naturel.� He looks a lot better in person now that he�s not working the combover.

Anyway, my hair survived. It's no Frenchy job, but it's not bad. A little uneven, but not bad at all. Of course the minute I sat down in the chair, I embarked on a junior-stylist vs. senior-stylist/salon-owner mini panic attack, but the scalp massage calmed me down. I can only think of a phrase in French to aptly describe the stylist's performance: elle s'est pas mal defendue.

2:43 p.m. - 2004-04-21

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: