powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Double trouble

So Julia R0berts is pregnant with twins.

Everybody is having twins these days. It�s very trendy. Geena Davi$ has twins. Al Pacin0 has twins. Dave Matthew$ has twins. J0an Lunden�s were birthed by a surrogate, but still� twins! Julia claims that there are twins in her family, and for all I know, she�s telling the truth. But whenever I hear of anyone expecting twins these days, my first impulse is to ask, �Are they real?�

This happened a month ago when we were in Marin for a wedding. I was talking to one of Terence�s former colleagues and she mentioned that another one of their former colleagues had just had twins.

�For real?�

�Yeah.�

�No, I mean, real twins? Like twins that run in the family twins? Or genetically modified twins?�

Terence scolded me, but his friend said, �No, I think it was hormone therapy.�

�Ahhh.�

I realize it wan�t very polite of me to ask that question. It made it seem like I was passing judgment on the couple�s fertility, but I wasn�t. I was just curious.

Terence�s mom is a twin, and his nieces are twins. There�s a big chance that if decided to have a baby, �it� could very well turn out to be �they.� Fraternal, identical, whatever.

OHMYGOD! Two!

At the same time!

The horror!

There�s a veritable twin explosion going on! Isn�t anyone else freaked out about this? About the world soon being populated by hundreds of Selma and Patty�s? Sherri and Terri�s? Ashley and Mary-Kate�s?

Zombie nation, here we come.

5:08 p.m. - 2004-06-02

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: