powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Give peace a chance

My new washer was just delivered and installed, and wouldn�t you know it? The managers of this dumb complex decided that today would be the optimal day to turn off the water in my building.

Boo.

The delivery dudes hooked everything up, but were unable to test the machine cause of the aforementioned water business. So they gave me a phone number to call if something goes haywire during the washer�s maiden load. All that�s left for me to do is rassle up some dirty clothes, buy different front-loader-compatible detergent, and wait for the water to be turned back on.

No more Laundromats for me! I am free to wash and dry with impunity! The machine is tiny and sparkling white!

In other news: the surgeon�s office called back and a NICE person gave me a new surgery date. It�s now Thursday August 5. This means I�ll have to miss Beulah�s last show on earth at Battery Park, but my health is more important than rocking out no matter what my inner teenager says. My loyalty to that band is well documented, so one missed show date (even if it is the last) will be ok. I know they�re not breaking up because I didn�t support them with ticket, t-shirt and cd purchases. My conscience is clean.

You know what isn�t clean? The damn carpeting in this apartment. I vacuum like crazy, but to no avail. It will never look pristine no matter how OCD I become about it. There were stains when we moved in, and we noted them on our move-in report, but I think what drives me even more crazy is the way the fibers bend this way and that after they�ve been walked on. It creates a kind of visual noise that most people don�t notice, but that makes me want to scream!

If I have to have carpeting, I�d prefer carpeting with short fibers that are perfectly flat or at the very least, evenly striped like the disciplined grass in a baseball field.

I feel the same way with sofas. I don�t like sofas that look like they�ve been sat in. I want a sofa that is made of memory foam with supertight upholstery so the minute you remove your ass, the indentation self-seals and returns the surface to its placid, virginal flatness. Not for me the flaccid slipcover, or the overstuffed armchair that swallows you whole in its Amma embrace!

Some people think I am anti-comfort, furnishing my space with pieces that say �don�t linger!� but I just want peace.

Peace. That�s all I want. Is that too much to ask?

When the washer is $1100, and the dream sofa $6000, I guess peace is indeed too much to ask.

9:58 a.m. - 2004-07-20

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: