powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fatty Fatty Fat Fat

You know what�s better than eating homemade enchiladas suizas with globs of sour cream on top?

Eating enchiladas suizas with globs of sour cream on top while watching this �compelling new show about weight loss�!

I chased my Mexican food with cookies and a piece of chocolate and felt a little bit bad about the fatties on the show. I mean, there�s a side of me that realizes that it must be really uncomfortable to be that big, but the other side of me�the BIGGER side if you will�just incoherently screams �put that Twinkie down!� Have these folks no self respect? No vanity? Haven�t they ever heard the saying �Nothing tastes as good as being thin feels?�

God bless the overweight, they are keeping TA employed (he designs some of the tools used for gastric bypass surgery.) If it weren�t for the morbidly obese, we wouldn�t have a roof over our heads or a newish car with heated seats and a functioning defrost. I am grateful.

Mr Bingo is going to be NY this weekend. We are trying to coordinate and as usual, it is complicated by the fact that his dance card is full. It would be so much easier if we lived in Manhattan; we could casually meet for drinks or go shopping for a few hours, Metro North train schedules be damned! There�s talk of maybe meeting at Dia:Beacon which is sort of halfway between, but Mr Bingo, being the fabulously well-connected gadabout that he is, will be there with all sorts of graphic design luminaries and I don�t know if I�ll have the stamina to deal with that. Truth is, I�d like to spend time with Mr Bingo not with Mr Bingo and his Entourage.

After the fatty show, I watched Down with Love and I wanted it to be better. I really did. As much charisma and sparkle as Ewan has, it was not enough to cancel out the terribleness of squinchy-faced Miss Renee. I don�t get her popularity; I really don�t.

In high school there was a fairly popular smart girl that I didn�t like, and I had the misfortune of dating her older brother. He was always trying to get the two of us together for �talks� to try to �get along.� If you think I am intransigeant now, just try to imagine me a hundred times more so at 17. This girl even came up to me between classes once, and asked why I didn�t like her.

Her: I don�t get it. Why don�t you like me?

Me: I just don�t.

Her: (quizzical expression)

Me: Look, I don�t like you. I know you have many qualities and other stuff to recommend you, but I just don�t think we have anything in common besides your brother.

Her: I don�t see what I�ve done to make you not like me.

Me: There�s nothing you could have done to avoid it. Hey even Christ had enemies, and he was a standup guy. Sorry!

Can you believe I�ve mellowed with age? It�s true! I swear it!

5:16 p.m. - 2004-10-20

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: