powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good fortune and sad news

My biggest client just got a new job, which means that I just got a new job. Lucky me, she�s taking me (and another art director that I love) with her.

The timing couldn�t be more perfect as I really need to take on more work. These designer wardrobe dreams aren�t going to finance themselves, you know.

The great news is that I can stay put (or maybe that�s the bad news?) I can continue to do everything via phone, instant message conferencing, and email. I made a wish not too long ago (because of an email? Or a fortune cookie fortune?) and it was a very mercenary one: I wished for more money.

Well here it is. Except I have to WORK for it. Remind me next time to wish for �independent wealth� instead.

I tracked a package at UPS this morning and am so disheartened by the redesign of the logo. Every time I see that terrible rounded, web-influenced swoopy gradient blob of a shield, I get sad. Whoever is responsible for it should be have their artistic license suspended. There was so much equity in the original Paul Rand mark, not to mention more humanity and positive associations. It bums me out that wit and personality are slowly being drained from our visual landscape, and that companies do not understand the value and longevity of a well-intentioned, well-designed logo.

Anyway, back to work�

2:42 p.m. - 2004-11-17

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: