powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCB

I�ve got a few minutes to spare between projects.

The photography book I�ve been designing is nearly done. All the printouts are marked-up and collated (map, interior layout, jacket) and I am right now burning all the files to a cd. They squeak in at just under 500MB. Whew!

Once that�s done, I can get back to working on the brochure for my other client. I�ve got two concepts to present but right now, the documents are too big to be PDFd and emailed. So when the above cd is burned, I�ll set to work shrinking every single image file that�s placed in the brochures.

Oh, the tedium of graphic design! I spend more time stamping out technological fires and file managing than I do conceptualizing. Part of the problem is that my systems are almost all beyond their life expectancies and I don�t yet have the means to replace them. But I�d rather be bitching about broken printers and needing a new computer than working under a moronic boss in a fluorescently-lit office (pretty much rue-madame�s professional life story pre-setting herself free.)

So much to do, and on top of everything, I�ve been helping TA update his resume, and craft an addendum to his grad school Personal Statement. He�s decided to re-apply, and fortunately the school still has his letters of rec, transcripts and portfolio on file. All he has to send in are the app, the fee, the addendum and a revised resume.

And of course, the deadline is tomorrow.

Last night as I was helping him, I said, �Wow, I�m so excited about going to grad school with you!� And he laughed. �Too bad we�re only smart when we combine our brains!� he replied. Then I laughed. The fact of the matter is that he wouldn�t have gotten his first degree without my help, and I would probably have dropped out of college without his encouragement.

I really hope he (we) gets in. TA�s been spontaneously bursting into silly dances every since the program coordinator emailed him to see if he was still interested in grad school. I think that�s a good sign.

Other than workworkwork, I�ve been taking care of pesky things on my To Do list. I am proudest of having finally sent my cashmere to the reweaver�s. It�s going to cost a bundle, but considering how much the sweaters were originally, it�s really nothing. Good cashmere is an investment.

Ok, cd is done burning. Now it�s time for verification, then FedEx! Woohoo! My life is so thrilling!

12:09 p.m. - 2005-01-06

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: