powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Likes and dislikes

If you love your iPod as much as I love Terence�s, you cannot live without this software. It�s the best $8 I�ve ever spent.

I just finished a 2-hour Detox yoga workshop, and I�m feeling pretty great. I am now fully prepared to work on the damn brochure.

I can never get too resentful about working on weekends, since the client does too. She just sent me an email to let me know she�s writing some new text, and fine-tuning other stuff. I can�t exactly slack off if the client is busting her ass, now can I?

I wouldn�t anyway. That�s not my style.

I�m so elated post-yoga that I think I feel an Oprah moment coming on� wait a second� here it comes�

Things I Am Grateful For:
- chocolate chip Clif bars
- hot tea
- commute mugs that keep tea lawsuit hot
- this tiny little ceramic heater that cranks like a mofo
- This American Life (streaming from kcrw)
- The internet
- A boyfriend installing new shades on all of our windows while I work
- Billy Bragg on This American Life! (still streaming from kcrw)
- A new 6 pin to 6 pin FireWire 400 cable and a groovy 7-port USB hub
- Owen Wilson and Jackie Chan in Shanghai Knights

I could spend hours making this list right now. Fortunately for you, I am too committed to my project to bore you to tears so I will sign off until the next Remembering My Spirit episode�

Oh wait a minute! I almost forgot! The last time I was in LA, I was at yoga, and the teacher was talking about how there�s stuff you like that other people don�t like, and things you don�t like that other people like. This was related to people groaning about certain poses, and she wanted to encourage them to just relax into them, breathe and not fixate on what they dislike.

�There are a lot of things I don�t like that a lot of people like. For example: Oprah. I really don�t like Oprah.�

The class exploded into all sorts of chatter, with people whispering to eachother �SHE DOESN�T LIKE OPRAH? HOW CAN A YOGI NOT LIKE OPRAH?�

I myself was pretty stunned. I don�t understand how you could NOT like Oprah. She�s a pretty rad lady.

After about 3 minutes of this slow-building din, the teacher realized that we had all misunderstood her.

�Oprah? You guys think I said Oprah? I said OKRA! I don�t like OKRA! Of course, I like OPRAH. I mean, duh!�

It was pretty funny. But maybe you had to be there.

Anyway, carry on.

1:50 p.m. - 2005-01-08

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: