powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Warrior's epic battle

I bought Disk Warrior at the nearest Apple store, brought it back here and tried to revive my laptop.

That's when my cd drive decided to stop working.

Fortunately I was able to attach my external cd burner via FireWire to the laptop. I inserted the Warrior cd into the drive, forced the laptop to boot from it by holding down the shift-option-command-delete keys (yeah, that's intuitive!) and have been watching my hard drive get rebuilt. It's been about an hour and a half.

I could not have done any of this without my mac svengali. He talked me down from the ledge, came up with the Firewire cd burner idea, and sent me an email with detailed instructions on what to buy next.

Oh yes, I may be broke but I am ordering a new system. This afternoon. Everything around here is on life support, and I'm all about Do Not Resuscitate.

I will be getting:
- a new Dual 2GHz G5 tower
- a new CRT (LCDs are still too expensive, esp. Apple ones)
- a new DVD/CD-RW superdrive for the laptop
- a new 80GB 5500 rpm hard drive for the laptop
- lots and lots of cheapo RAM

I am so tired of dealing with my zombie machines. They've all been brought back from the other side, and I saw Shaun of the Dead. I know what's up with zombies.

3:35 p.m. - 2005-02-03

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: