powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I really am becoming Mr Burns

I really am becoming Mr Burns

I just got a call from my general practitioner. I love her because she looks and talks like Sigourney Weaver in Alien, and in my mind this translates to her being able to kick extraterrestrial and disease ass all tough and Ripley-like.

Unfortunately, she was powerless against my white blood cells. She phoned to tell me that I have rheumatoid arthritis. I can now add yet another chronic ailment to the list of afflictions. Leave it to me to get a disease that only affects 1% of the population! I am all about exclusive clubs.

Twenty minutes reading up on the disease at webmd.com was enough to freak me the fuck out. I should know better. Everything on that site leads to cancer and death and I can never read an article without concluding that I am not long for this world. I think I�ll just wait to see what the rheumatologist says.

Meanwhile, I�ve emailed my podiatrist to ask him if this will affect surgery. My GP thought that was a good idea.

Ok I�m going to stop typing now. Have you seen the photos of deformed rheumatoidally arthritic hands? That CANNOT be my future. I�d rather look like Captain Hook.

4:15 p.m. - 2005-04-22

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: