powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grrrr

Some old clients climbed out of the woodwork this week to entice me with potential projects.

But before any projects materialize, they want a logo and are hoping I�ll give them a good price--the tradeoff being that I might get additional work further down the road.

So I give them what I consider to be my bargain basement price for the logo. And they email me back asking if I can cut it in half.

I think not.

Even though they acknowledge that my fee is �a great deal� and that logo work is my �livelihood� and that they�re not �trying to short-change� me, they kinda suck, don�t they?

I emailed them back this afternoon and said that I couldn�t design a logo for half price. I politely suggested they wait until they had sufficient budget to hire me, or find someone for their price so that they have something in time for the trade show they�re attending at the beginning of June. I also said I hoped this wouldn�t affect our partnering up for future work, and even used a word that I HATE* to keep the Magnanimous Warm Fuzzy flowing.

* the word is �synergy�. Very few people use it correctly, and most of the time they�re being totally disingenuous when they utter it. I hate that.

And I sent a quote to some other former clients last week, and signed off with �happy to negotiate� and of course, have heard nothing since.

What do they think I�m running here? A fucking charity? People are so irritating.

4:54 p.m. - 2005-05-17

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: