powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

License to ill

I had my second appointment with the rheumatologist today. I am feeling upbeat about my recovery. (I wonder how long that will last?) Unfortunately for my impatient ass, the old Me is not going to resurface overnight. I think I am going to have to take up meditation to deal with the challenge of WAITING for Me. I hate waiting! Especially for Me!

The doctors said my chest xray was normal, and that I tested negative for both Heps. My white blood cell count is normal which is good.

My Methotrexate dosage is being upped, and the Prednisone is being discontinued (yay!) If in a month or so, I am still waking up at 5am in agonizing pain, another rheumatoid drug will be added to the Methotrexate to increase its efficacy. I have to have blood work done every month for the next 6 months, and will begin physical therapy on my hands in the next few weeks.

The best news? I was given the green light to resume yoga! Even though beginning next week, I will be a gimp in a leg/foot cast, unable to do much of anything in the way of locomotion, I am still excited about being able to get back to yoga. I just know that as difficult as it might be initially (it�s been months since I practiced last), it will be very good for my joints not to mention my morale. I can�t wait to get started!

The doctor patiently listened to all of my concerns. I got out my little notebook, fired away and she answered each of my questions thoughtfully. That made me feel good, like, hey, I am taking an active role in the management of my illness, trying to understand My New Disease (good band name) by being informed and reading as much as possible. She didn�t even laugh when I pulled out a Sunday advertising insert for some glucosamine/hyaluronic acid/condroitin supplement that claims to be a �joint care breakthrough.� (bogus, naturellement.)

I am in such a freaky good mood right now! It�s weird but I�m going to go with it. In fact, I�m going to put on some Pizzicato 5 and dance around my studio like an idiot.

4:52 p.m. - 2005-06-02

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: