powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Casting off

The cast is coming off tomorrow and I couldn�t be more excited. I am so sick of not being able to vacuum, walk, drive, cook and wash myself. I intend to celebrate with a nice, hot bath. I ran out of my favorite bubble bath (in lavandes grises), but have some leftover coconut-scented Tahiti douche that will do the trick. Hey, why are even the cheapie body products in Europe so much better than the ones in the states? Tahiti is made by Colgate! And Monsavon is Sara Lee!

The next phase will involve some kind of special shoe/boot, something sure to be absolutely hideous. That will be followed by the running shoe portion of my recovery (3 to 4 weeks or something like that.) I�ve considered retiring my thrashed New Balances and replacing them with something else, but I can�t find trainers that I like (why must all shoes for girls be white and pink?), and NB doesn�t make 701s anymore (which I loved because they were silver, gray and red.)

I haven�t photographed it yet, but I now have a brace on my right wrist. I am supposed to wear it all the time, and so far, it seems to be helping with the inflammation in the wrist joint. This Friday, I get a brace for the left wrist. One of the characteristics of RA is that it hits your body symmetrically�so that if one day something on your right side hurts, it�s inevitable that that same body part will begin to hurt on the left. The good news? I don�t have any inflammation in my metacarpophalangeal joints, which means I won�t need wrist/hand braces for when I sleep. Thank god for that.

To combat my lethargy this morning, I had a cup of PG Tips, the world�s most hypercaffeinated legal shiznick. It really helped jumpstart my energy, but boy do I feel ill right now, like, super amped but simultaneously kinda on the verge of hurling. I can�t believe I�m so sensitive�there was a time when I would drink espresso 10 times a day! On an empty stomach! Black! As a matter of fact, when TA and I first started dating, we bonded over our love of dark soupy French Roast made in a stovetop Bialetti Moka Express and talked about getting matching tattoos of Signor Bialetti. (We also talked about getting tattoos of Jimmy the Corn Man, Casa Sanchez�s adorable mascot, but never did. We are probably the only two people to have survived the 80s and 90s without ink.)

Last night, one of our neighbors stopped by to borrow some painting equipment and remarked, �Hey, your place is all Modded out!� That�s the first time I�ve ever heard anyone refer to our decorating style as Mod, but I guess it makes sense. I�ve decided to take it as a compliment. We saw another neighbor at a party the other evening, and he said �you guys have cool furniture.� And he hasn�t even seen the sofa which is being delivered on Saturday! Still, it�s nice to get some positive feedback. We�ve been working our asses off designing, painting, furnishing, building and accessorizing and it�s reassuring knowing that we�re not the only ones admiring the transformation. The next big project? Building sheetrock �wings� to enclose a large bookcase which will be shiny white with a light blue/aqua back panel. The color will pick up on the glass bricks in our hallway, and the aqua cast of the frosted glass doors we�ll be installing in the bedroom and bathroom.

Feist will be on kcrw this morning. Yay! Another thing to look forward to�

11:15 a.m. - 2005-06-21

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: