powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is what the aftermath of an osteotomy with internal fixation looks like

Prepare to be grossed out. Don�t say I didn�t warn you.

Here�s the bandage being removed from my foot:

Here�s a close-up of the my swollen, bruised foot with stitches in place:

See why I made that Frankenstein comment last week?

Here�s the wound sans stitches (and the little black threads above are pieces of removed suture):

Over the wound, they�ve placed some skin tape which will eventually fall off. I am free to take showers and take baths. Yay!

Instead of a cast, my foot is now encased in a neoprene sleeve which is slipped into a hard, black plastic frame that looks a lot like a snowboard boot with a binding attached. (photo t/k.) I have to wear this for three weeks total (originally Dr. K had said 4 but he�s optimistic about my recovery.)

I have to use crutches for one more week while I begin applying pressure to my foot. By next Wednesday, I should be more or less walking. I can�t wait to get my foot back!

And I can�t wait to eat a hot, steamy bagel at this place! I think it�s the simmering honey water what makes these so delicious. We leave for Montreal next week, and I need a vacation like nobody�s business.

10:07 a.m. - 2005-06-22

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: