powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dumb and truly dumber

Exciting news first: last night when TA and I were walking around town, I noticed a tall guy in an MC5 t-shirt. Immediately my antenna stuck straight up in the air all Tick-like because, who, in New Haven is actually cool enough to know about the MC5? I tell you who: Jason H@mmel from Mates of State! That�s WHO! My eyes darted to his companion, and sure enough, it was his wife and co-band member Kori.

TA really wanted to turn around after we�d passed them and scream �Mates of State ROCK!� really loud but we were both overtaken by chickenshitedness. More me than TA. Oh well, they live nearby, I will no doubt have more opportunities to embarrass myself.

So� other news.

Every summer the Yale campus swarms with high school students. I used to think it was Egghead Camp. Probably, this is what their optimistic parents think, but from what I�ve overheard, these kids do not appear to be any smarter than non-Summer-at-Yale kids. I have no idea what they�re studying, but it seems that whatever it is, it is not making any kind of dent in the students� hormone-addled, sex-obsessed brains. From what I can gauge, the camp is just an excuse for entitled girls in ass-skimming flippy skirts (the ensemble often completed with muffin tops) to flirt with preppy bedheaded surly boys. Future Captains of Industry, I salute you!

Recently, we caught two most excellent snippets of student conversation:

Conversation #1 between two Nerd Kids (possibly the only high school students learning + remembering anything):
Nerd Girl: C++++++!
Nerd Boy: C--!
Nerd Girl: Hey, that�s just C with one +! It should be C----!

Conversation #2 between two Muffin Tops:
Girl A: So, like, do you do any baking, um, when you�re at home?
Girl B: I, um, don�t know. I mean, we have someone who does the cooking.

12:25 p.m. - 2005-08-02

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: