powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When life throws you lemons, it's best not to be a sourpuss

I was clicking through the party pics on style.com, admiring some people, their staying power and good plastic surgery, and disparaging others (example: L�Wr3n Scott--get over your bad Mick J@gger humping self; Carine--wash your face,) when I stopped at a photo of Jeff Koons and his hugely pregnant second wife.

It made me cry my eyes out.

Granted, I am a little sensitive these days. It doesn�t help that I am also totally PMS and prone to Prednisone weepiness. I think I have officially annoyed the hell out of myself.

It is time to move on to happy things. Like:

The Rockstar�s first ever video is being launched at a party next Tuesday at this venue! I�ve previewed it, and it�s really, really cool. If you�re in LA, I highly recommend going to check it out. The song they decided to focus on is one of my favorites. It�s an infectious poppy punk rock vaudevillian ditty if you can believe that.

My supertalented little sister is participating in OpenStudios in SF this year. She�s featured here and her work is also being shown as part of this show downtown. Please go out and support art by buying one of her gorgeous glazed raised paintings. (The family obsession with the lowly donut does not end with me.)

And now back to me.

I am back to thinking about grad school. It�s so weird how I go in phases. I think the way I consider graduate studies is the same way that some women think about having children, or changing careers or Turretically calling out �skim!� when they�re in a Starbucks. This requires further analysis.

I am making a surprise playlist for TA�s nano. I think he�s going to dig it, and it�s making me smile just thinking about which songs to put on there. The general vibe is Missing California, which basically, is like an everyday vibe around here, but not in a maudlin pathetic way. No, more in a happy and sun-kissed way.

I am also embarking on a ton of research into BRM medications, complementary alternative therapies for RA as well as diet modification. So far, the Stanford online library has been invaluable, and I�ve been directed to all sorts of intersting information. I have a lot of reading to do.

Fuck depressing current events and sad health news and this gloomy rain�I�ve got a life to live. And I jumpstarted it today by appearing as a lead in a WSJ article.

That�s right! I�m back.

5:51 p.m. - 2005-10-12

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: