powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wherever I go, Ego

It�s a good thing I didn�t go to my high school reunion a month ago. I just saw some photos online, and I didn�t recognize a soul! I�m serious! If I�d gone, I would have had to have been really clever about how I snuck peeks at peoples� name tags. The cheerleaders and jocks definitely don�t look like cheerleaders or jocks anymore.

In fact, not only did everyone look unfamiliar and different, everyone looked BAD. Just flat-out BAD. I wasn�t expecting so many of the guys to look bloated and heavy, or the women to look fried and tired. We�re not even 40! WTF! And based on what people were wearing, it was pretty obvious that the reunion was a Big Night Out for a lot of them, and they were all decked out in their finery� and still! They looked BAD!

It�s funny, I got an email not too long ago from a long lost high school friend (who got my coordinates from bumping into my little sister) and she said, �Ever wonder what have people been doing for the past 10 years? Having babies is one thing.� So THAT�S where I�ve gone wrong� perhaps if I�d spent time creating a family instead of blathering/bloggering on and on and engaging in extreme navel-gazing I, too, would have sparkles and foundation settling into the fine wrinkles around my eyes.

Not that my ego needed additional boosting, but this weekend I finally got to see whose work got into the design competition. I can�t believe the judges rejected me. I should have rejected them! Of the 6 or 7 pieces in the gallery, perhaps 2 were good from a straight design point of view. Everything else was total RUBBISH! There�s this one poster in there, and it is so, so terrible. The typography is amateurish and awful and the color choices are ham-handed and there is absolutely no finesse whatsoever to the execution! I can�t believe that it got in, and neither of my submissions did.

I was really prepared to be blown away by what was in that gallery, to be humbled and inspired to create better and more interesting work, but honestly? I was disappointed. I expected more.

And still do.

3:08 p.m. - 2005-10-16

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: