powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fringe movement

I�m annoyed with two (and counting) things today:

There is an insurgent movement afoot in my building. Three owners (who are not board members) called a special meeting for tonight, at 7 pm. They are not protesting the installation of new windows; rather, they are protesting the fact that official procedures were not followed. I can�t tell if I�m more annoyed with them and their bullshit, or with the fact that I�m going to be (probably) missing ANTM. I think it�s a toss-up.

The thing is, these three owners all agree that the windows in the building need to be replaced and that everyone�s property value will go up once this is done. So why agitate on the procedure issue? Because they don�t like who�s on the board, and this is the one thing they can grab onto to achieve their goal. It�s pretty obvious to me that �procedures� is not really the issue: the issue is taking down people they don�t like. One of the items on the insurgent agenda is �removal of the current president.� Such drama from straight boys!

Thank god the Gang of Three won�t get the satisfaction of a public execution as the president stepped down last week. Phew! Just in the nick of time!

A few months ago, a seat opened up on the board and neither one of those three rabble-rousers stepped forward. If �procedures� had that much traction, don�t you think they should have accepted the challenge of making change from within? One of the guys is a fucking Social Studies teacher! You�d think he of all people would relish the opportunity to put theory into practice! This is why as much as I like them, I can�t respect them. They are doing that whole Monday morning quarterback thing.

Oh, and guess what happened with that empty board seat? The president appointed TA.

The other thing that�s bothering me today is the fact that Ebay will not work. I�ve been trying to post a sale on there for the last 24 hours, and I can�t seem to upload my fiche (how do you say �fiche� in English?) I�ve tried Firefox, I�ve tried Safari, I even tried Explorer on TA�s PC but to no avail. It is so frustrating to have spent time lighting and shooting the item, writing the description, and choosing the perfect background. In the famous words of a middling architect TA and I once had a crit with, �Technology promises so much, yet rarely delivers.�

Let�s end on something positive: we may have people over for Thanksgiving! TA wants to invite his little UN contingent from school, and I�m excited. More people = more pie!

11:25 a.m. - 2005-11-09

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: