powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

They're anti-dentites!

TA bought me a new monitor with his student discount. The prices at the bookstore were too cheap to pass up and now I have a 20� flat panel Apple display. Yay. I can�t believe I�ve been killing my eyes for so many years with my 10 year old ancient Sony.

The monitor is coming in really handy because I�m busy these days. I wish I were busy with clients who paid more, but isn�t this the Designer�s/Freelancer�s Lament?

I�ve been watching and re-watching Wong Kar Wai�s 2046. It is so thrillingly gorgeous to look at that I feel I must subject myself to it repeatedly to fully absorb every color, composition, and subtlety. He truly is my favorite contemporary filmmaker. I want to live in Christopher Doyle�s lense. I only wish I had In The Mood For Love as well, so that I could watch the films back to back.

We are moving, and not fast enough. We had a delicious Vietnamese dinner with our NH friends on Saturday night, and though the food was tasty, the company was a total letdown. They are boring! We have nothing to talk about! I feel like whenever we are with them, it�s the rue-madame and TA show�we do all the talking, tell the most stories, then feel immediately guilty if we mention international travel, cultural adventures, snowboarding and surfing safaris� I went off on the poor quality of the dental care I received here, and it was one of those �Oh shit, how does my shoe taste?� moments when I realized too late�TOO LATE!� that the wife unit of one of the couples had recently INTENTIONALLY opted to have a tooth removed (and not repaired!) because she didn�t want to have a root canal. And she has dental insurance!!!!

TOOTHLESS PEOPLE!!! This is what our social options are!

My, how the mighty have fallen�

5:33 p.m. - 2006-01-31

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: