powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Right for my type

Exciting developments chez rue-madame:
- Dr B the rheumatologist has switched me from twice weekly 25mg injections of Enbrel, to a once weekly 50 mg shot. This is good on a number of levels, the most important being that I will bruise less. Bruises are unsightly, but they do have an advantage: when a bruise develops, you know exactly where you shot yourself last and you avoid that spot. Injection site infections are common so it�s nice to have that little reminder. Dr B also said that if I feel ok, I can start tapering off the anti-inflammatory, so now I take 500mg of Naproxen every other day (instead of 500mg twice a day, every day.)
- I have also decided to try some diet changes to see if they have any effect on inflammation levels, joint pain and creakiness, and general health. I�m not doing anything too crazy, just hewing to the Blood Type diet recommendations, eating mostly dairy- and wheat-free (Hello, quinoa! Hello, spelt! Hello, Ezekiel bread!) TA made some amazing-looking chocolate chip cookies the other night, and I didn�t so much as sneak a bite of batter. That is some self-control.
- If living dairy- and wheat-free sounds horrible (as it did to me at first) do not think bland! I have found lots of ways to make super yummy food that goes beyond the boring stuff listed in the book, and on the website. For example, the other night, I made a Laurent Tourondel lemon rosemary roast chicken and it was magically delicious. Thank god butter is not completely verboten for my blood type�I shoved 3/4 of a stick of butter under the breasts� skin! The butter was mixed with chopped up rosemary, onion and preserved lemon (love this stuff;) as the slurry melted into the roasting pan, I suctioned it up and basted the chicken with it. The skin was crispy, golden and had a nice snap.

I�ll write more later. Right now, I�ve got to call the printer, make some tea and think about lunch.

11:35 a.m. - 2006-03-07

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: