powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Or maybe it's fleas...

The project I�m working on right now is interesting because I am merely �tweaking� someone else�s work. And if by �tweak� you mean �dramatically change for the better,� then I am indeed �tweaking.� These layouts are supposed to look �more Teen Vogue, less Teen Beat� (editor�s words) and I sure as hell hope I�ve approached whatever hip-to-mainstream dream ratio the publisher had in mind.

I�m crossing my fingers.

Personally I think my �tweaked� design looks like a cross between Teen Vogue and Allure. It�s kind of hard to determine if I�ve pushed the color/typography/balance between busy and quiet enough. Or If I�ve gone totally off the deep-end commercial/downmarket-wise.

It�s been really fun for me to work on, since at heart, I am a tomboy-ish 11 year old girl with a sophisticated streak. The audience is definitely teenage (so that works for me), but it�s probably more midwestern podunk than coastal urban which is why I want the design not to be too uptown if you catch my drift. There should be some H&M or expensive lipgloss tossed in with the Abercrombie and Clearasil.

I have a little downtime and should probably finish up my website, but it is so hard to get motivated. I have been so daydreamy lately! Thinking about all the different things I could be doing, beating myself up about treading water in my career, wondering if I�ve got it in me to go back to school, fantasizing about just getting a Director position with a salary and health benefits, considering Socrates� famous quote �An unexamined life is not worth living� and wondering if I examine too little or too much? Do I live in the shadows or am I outside the cave?

This is what the suburbs do to me. It�s not necessarily a bad thing; maybe I�m meant to have these moments where I take stock, beat myself up, feel like a loser, feel ok with my life decisions? I don�t often vacillate but when I do, it really throws me for a loop. I�m trying to pretend it�s like surfing or snowboarding, that I just have to relax a little bit so I can handle the bumps.

Or maybe it�s just PMS and I need to fucking chill.

5:30 p.m. - 2006-07-10

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: