powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Golden handcuffs

The friend who helped TA secure the internship this summer had ulterior motives.

Yes, he wanted to help out, but more importantly--and selfishly you might say--he wanted to rig it so that we would move back permanently. His thinking was that if TA did well over the summer, the company would want to hire him when he graduates and we�d all live happily ever after in Northern California.

Well today TA had a review and his boss asked if he�d be interested in coming on fulltime after graduation.

!!!

This is exciting for TA in many ways, another validation that he was right to change courses, to go to graduate school, to take some professional and personal risks.

Who knows if he�ll actually want to work at the company once he�s done with school. He doesn�t like the cubicle farm, the quiet, how square everyone is, but if they throw a ton of money at him, who knows what�ll happen?

So that�s cool. He should feel good about his performance.

Things are quiet work-wise which is nice for me. I�m not sure I�d be in any condition to slave away in this un-air conditioned apartment if I were busy. It has been so ridiculously hot here, it�s a wonder I haven�t melted. I spend most days in my underwear, drinking cold tea and napping.

Other news in no particular order:
- the car�s in the shop again.
- the espresso machine is ready to be picked up
- an LA friend is staying with us tonight, so I cleaned up a little.
- my best friend�s father just died
- saw a matinee of Devil Wears Prada and thought Meryl Streep and Stanley Tucci were great. Anne Hathaway? Not so much.

4:34 p.m. - 2006-07-25

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: